

## The Corporation of The Town of Amherstburg

December 22, 2020

VIA EMAIL

Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Email: premier@ontario.ca

## **RE: Opposition to Further Amalgamation**

At its meeting of December 14, 2020, Council passed the following recommendation for your consideration:

"That Administration BE DIRECTED to send correspondence in support of the Town of Essex's opposition to any further amalgamation and to further restructuring at this time."

Enclosed is a copy of the Town of Essex correspondence for convenience and reference purposes.

Regards,

Tammy Fowkes
Deputy Clerk, Town of Amherstburg
(519) 736-0012 ext. 2216
tfowkes@amherstburg.ca

CC:

Taras Natyshak, MPP, Essex <a href="mailto:tnatyshak-qp@ndp.on.ca">tnatyshak-qp@ndp.on.ca</a>

Chris Lewis, MP

Email: chris.lewis@parl.gc.ca

Robert Auger, Town Solicitor, Legal and Legislative Services/Clerk - Town of Essex

Email: rauger@essex.ca

Jennifer Astrologo, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk - Town of Kingsville

Email: jastrologo@kingsville.ca

Agatha Robertson, Director of Council Services/Clerk - Town of LaSalle

Email: arobertson@lasalle.ca

Kristen Newman, Director of Legislative and Legal Services/Clerk - Town of Lakeshore

Email: knewman@lakeshore.ca

Brenda Percy, Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services - Municipality of Learnington

Email: <a href="mailto:bpercy@leamington.ca">bpercy@leamington.ca</a>

Laura Moy, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk - Town of Tecumseh

Email: Imoy@tecumseh.ca

Mary Birch, Director of Council and Community Services/Clerk -County of Essex

Email: mbirch@countyofessex.ca

Valerie Critchley, City Clerk – City of Windsor

Email: clerks@citywindsor.ca

Municipalities of Ontario (AMO)

Email: amo@amo.on.ca



Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Email: premier@ontario.ca

Re: Opposition to Further Amalgamation

Dear Premier Ford,

At its regular council meeting of November 2, 2020, Council of the Town of Essex discussed the topics of restructuring, its ongoing service delivery review and related discussion concerning the feasibility of sharing some services with other local municipalities.

As a result of the discussion that ensued, the following resolution was passed,

## R20-11-417

Moved By Councillor Bondy Seconded By Councillor Garon

**That** the Town of Essex is strongly opposed to any further amalgamation at this time;

**Whereas** we feel our residents are best served now by the current model is terms of dollars and services; and

**Whereas** we appreciate the Municipal Modernization Grant and are working hard to ensure our municipal operations are more efficient internally and looking for possible efficiencies externally; and

**Whereas** we are opposed to further restructuring at this time, but we are not opposed to sharing some services where our service quality, safety and price to our residents is not comprised; and

**That** a letter be sent to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario and that a copy of the letter be sent to the County of Essex, all Essex County municipalities and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) advising them of the Town of Essex's position with regards to any further amalgamation at this time.

**Carried** 



Having already experienced an amalgamation in the not so distant past, the Town of Essex is instead focused on finding efficiencies and shared services where feasible for the Town and its residents and for the other regional municipalities.

Yours truly,

Robert W. Auger, L.L.B.

Town Solicitor/Legal and Legislative Services, Clerk

Ext. 1132

Email: rauger@essex.ca

RWA/lam

## **Enclosure**

c.c. Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) amo@amo.on.ca

Mary Birch, Director of Council and Community Services/Clerk County of Essex

Email: mbirch@countyofessex.ca

Paula Parker, Municipal Clerk/Risk Manager Town of Amherstburg Email: pparker@amherstburg.ca

Jennifer Astrologo, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk Town of Kingsville Email: jastrologo@kingsville.ca

Agatha Robertson, Director of Council Services/Clerk Town of LaSalle

Email: aroberts on @lasalle.ca



Kristen Newman, Director of Legislative and Legal Services/Clerk

Town of Lakeshore

Email: knewman@lakeshore.ca

Brenda Percy, Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services

Municipality of Leamington Email: bpercy@leamington.ca

Laura Moy, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk

Town of Tecumseh

Email: Imoy@tecumseh.ca