

The Corporation of the Town of Essex Striking Committee Meeting Minutes

December 16, 2024, 4:30 pm

Location: Essex Municipal Building, 33 Talbot Street South

Present: Sherry Bondy, Mayor

Rob Shepley, Deputy Mayor Kim Verbeek, Councillor Ward 2 Jason Matyi, Councillor Ward 3

Also Present: Shelley Brown, Deputy Clerk, Legal and Legislative Services

Cassandra Roy, Legislative Clerk

Accessible formats or communication supports are available upon request. Please contact the Clerk's Office at clerks@essex.ca or 519-776-7336 extension 1100 or 1101.

1. Call to Order

Mayor Bondy called the meeting to order at 4:30 PM.

2. Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that this land is the traditional territory of the Three Fires Confederacy of First Nations (comprised of the Ojibway, the Odawa, and the Potawatomi Peoples), and of the Huron-Wendat Peoples. We value the significant historical and contemporary contributions of local and regional First Nations and all of the Original Peoples of Turtle Island who have been living and working on the land from time immemorial.

3. Declarations of Conflict of Interest

There were no declarations of conflict of interest noted at this time.

4. Adoption of Published Agenda

4.1 Striking Committee Meeting Agenda for December 16, 2024

SC24-12-001

Moved By Jason Matyi, Councillor Ward 3 Seconded By Rob Shepley, Deputy Mayor

That the published agenda for the December 16, 2024 Striking Committee Meeting be adopted as presented.

Carried

5. Adoption of Minutes

5.1 Striking Committee Minutes for June 3, 2024

SC24-12-002

Moved By Kim Verbeek, Councillor Ward 2 Seconded By Jason Matyi, Councillor Ward 3

That the minutes of the Striking Committee meeting held June 3, 2024 be adopted as circulated.

Carried

6. Committee Appointments

6.1 Affordable Housing Task Force

Doug Sweet, CAO, provided an overview of the applicants.

SC24-12-003

Moved By Kim Verbeek, Councillor Ward 2 Seconded By Rob Shepley, Deputy Mayor

That the Recommendation to Council is to increase the number of Community Members on the Affordable Housing Task Force for the remainder of the current Task Force term, ending November 15, 2026, to a maximum of eleven (11) Community Members.

Carried

SC24-12-004

Moved By Rob Shepley, Deputy Mayor Seconded By Jason Matyi, Councillor Ward 3

That the Recommendation to Council is for Jo-Ann Conard and Rachael Mills to be the appointed members of the Affordable Housing Task Force for the term ending November 15, 2026.

Carried

6.2 Essex Accessibility Advisory Committee

SC24-12-005

Moved By Rob Shepley, Deputy Mayor Seconded By Jason Matyi, Councillor Ward 3

That the Recommendation to Council is for Nancy Shangi to be an appointed member of the Essex Accessibility Advisory Committee for the term ending November 15, 2026.

Carried

7. Adjournment

SC24-12-006

Moved By Rob Shepley, Deputy Mayor Seconded By Jason Matyi, Councillor Ward 3

That the meeting be adjourned at 4:37 PM.

Carried
Chair
Recording Secretary