

The Corporation of the Town of Essex

Striking Committee Meeting Minutes

June 3, 2024, 5:00 pm

Location: Essex Municipal Building, 33 Talbot Street South

Present: Sherry Bondy, Mayor

Rob Shepley, Deputy Mayor Kim Verbeek, Councillor Ward 2 Jason Matyi, Councillor Ward 3

Also Present: Doug Sweet, Chief Administrative Officer

Lori Chadwick, Director, Development Services

Shelley Brown, Deputy Clerk, Legal and Legislative Services Cassandra Roy, Legislative Clerk, Legal and Legislative Services

Accessible formats or communication supports are available upon request. Please contact the Clerk's Office at clerks@essex.ca or 519-776-7336 extension 1100 or 1101.

1. Call to Order

Mayor Bondy called the meeting to order at 5:00 PM.

2. Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that this land is the traditional territory of the Three Fires Confederacy of First Nations (comprised of the Ojibway, the Odawa, and the Potawatomi Peoples), and of the Huron-Wendat Peoples. We value the significant historical and contemporary contributions of local and regional First Nations and all of the Original Peoples of Turtle Island who have been living and working on the land from time immemorial.

3. Declarations of Conflict of Interest

There were no declarations of conflict of interest noted at this time.

4. Adoption of Published Agenda

4.1 Striking Committee Meeting Agenda for June 3, 2024

SC24-06-001

Moved By Rob Shepley, Deputy Mayor Seconded By Kim Verbeek, Councillor Ward 2

That the published agenda for the June 3, 2024 Striking Committee Meeting be adopted as presented.

Carried

5. Committee Appointment

5.1 Affordable Housing Task Force

Lori Chadwick, Director, Development Services provided an overview of the applicants.

SC24-06-002

Moved By Rob Shepley, Deputy Mayor Seconded By Kim Verbeek, Councillor Ward 2

That the recommendation to Council is for Fiona Coughlin, Frazier Fathers, Fred Groves, Richard Kokovai and Amanda Morgan, to be the appointed members of the Affordable Housing Task Force for the term ending November 15, 2026; and

That Kim Verbeek, Councillor Ward 2 and Rodney Hammond, Councillor Ward 4 be the Council appointees to the Affordable Housing Task Force for the term ending November 15, 2026.

Carried

6. Reports to Council

SC24-06-003

Moved By Rob Shepley, Deputy Mayor Seconded By Jason Matyi, Councillor Ward 3

That the Municipal Clerk be directed to note the recommendations made at this meeting by the Striking Committee and to report same back to Council for its consideration at its June 17, 2024 Regular Meeting of Council.

Carried

7. Adjournment

SC24-06-004

Moved By Rob Shepley, Deputy Mayor Seconded By Kim Verbeek, Councillor Ward 2

That the meeting be adjourned at 5:05 PM

Carried	
Chair	
Recording Secretary	